Guest Post: How to Snag the Boy Next Door in 10 Minutes or Less

What a treat all you lucky ducks are in for today!

Some way, somehow a few months ago, I managed to convince the beautiful and funny BreezyK from The Camel Life to drink wine with me. Our love blossomed over wine- related drunkness, appetizers and the table of good-looking men next to us. We sealed the deal with a drunken subway ride home.

Months later, Breezy wrote the most humorous post that I’m happy and excited to feature on The Chronicles. For those of you who would like some context for this post, please check out my previous post: Because the Greatest Cockblock of all is happening to me.

Without further ado, here’s Breezyk’s take on my cockblocking stories. Enjoy!

______________________________________

Holla peeps- For those of you who don’t know me, I’m BreezyK from The Camel Life, where I blog about finding the humour in everyday life.

I’ve been a follower of The Chronicles for quite some time now, and am proud to say that after only a few short months of stalking correspondence, I have successfully managed to turn what was once merely an unrequited internet girl-crush into an actual, real life friendship with Karen.
And kids- let me tell ya- she’s just as sweet, funny, and gorgeous as she is on her blog. Which also makes me kind of hate her.

Just look at that face! Now there's a girl you could bring home to mom.

Anyway, when we’re not making each other friendship bracelets or redecorating our secret best friend hideout, we sometimes like to eat Eggs Benny at various hipster brunch spots around Toronto and pretend to be as cool in real life as we are on the internet.

During one such meet-up a few Sundays ago, Karen was giving me an update on the infamous (and subject of frequent blog posts) Astro Boy. When she told me that she had recently discovered Astro-Boy was her NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOUR- I couldn’t believe my ears.

“Your crush is the boy next door?? I exclaimed. “You have to do something- he’s RIGHT THERE! You probably share a goddamn wireless connection!”
Unconvinced, she replied: “Well what am I supposed to do, go knock on his door?”
“Pfft…” I replied “No. There are tons of things you could do to get his attention”.
“Like what?” she asked.

I then proceeded to ramble off a list of what I thought were foolproof suggestions, in my probably (ok, definitely) still-drunk-from-the-night-before state. Since we got a good chuckle out of them, we thought it might be fun to share them with you all, in case any of you have a boy next door you want to snag.. or maybe just a pesky neighbour that you want to scare away. Cause that could work too.
So here goes:

BreezyK’s Guide to Snagging the Boy Next Door in 10 Minutes or Less:

Set up a lemonade stand. Screw Milkshakes- these days, it’s lemonade that brings all the boys to the yard. Set up an inviting looking stand, complete with a pitcher and glasses for two, wear something slutty, and before you know it, it’ll be more than just the lemons getting squeezed, if you know what I’m sayin’.

Move over Kelis… there’s a new drank in town.

Have a yard sale, at which you sell only your unmentionables. This might require an initial investment, since you’ll probably have to go and buy some sexy shit to “sell” ( lets be honest, the stuff in your drawers right now probably isn’t gonna cut it). But what’s a couple hundred bucks at Victoria Secret if it helps you secure the love of your life??

Wash your car suggestively in your yard. Think Jessica Simpson, “These Boots are Made for Walking” styles. Again, this may require an initial investment- particularly if you don’t own a car. Obviously you’ll have to buy one. But hey, no one ever said love came cheap.

Bake things that smell delicious. Harness your inner domestic diva and use it to whip up several dozen batches of cookies and muffins. If you’re lucky, the sweet scent will hypnotize the object of your affection and draw him to you like a moth to a flame… or Lindsay Lohan to an open bar. Bonus points if you leave a fresh apple pie cooling on the window sill in plain sight. You little June Cleaver, you.

If June Cleaver were a cat.

Regular, good old fashioned stalking. This is the least expensive, and arguably, most foolproof way of securing your man. It works like this: hide, out of eyesight, in your living room window. Wait (Bring snacks, cause this could take a while). If he is a runner do this dressed in full workout gear. When you see him leave his house, dash out of your front door and immediately begin jogging into step beside him.. and then BAM! Serendipitous encounter.

Have the sudden urge to borrow something. You could go with the standard cup of flour or sugar, but why not create an air of mystery by asking for something really obscure- like two 48-inch diameter plywood discs for that hovercraft you’re building in the backyard. Can he see it? No, it’s not… uh…. ready yet. But maybe once it’s done you can take him for a “ride”. wink wink. nudge nudge.
Feign a lost pet. Print up some signs, complete with a picture of your “lost” Golden Retriever puppy, and ask him to help you put them up all over the neighbourhood. Cause really, who could say no to little Cooper?


and if none of these suggestions work, then I guess as a last ditch effort you could:
Talk to him like a normal person. But that’s way less fun. And way more awkward. I’d go with the lemonade stand.
Good luck, and happy creeping!
xo,
BreezyK

______________________________

And there you have it. How jealous are you of me now that you know she’s my real life friend?! If you want to read more of BreezyK, CLICK ON THIS LINK—–> The Camel Life. Because she’s awesome.

46 thoughts on “Guest Post: How to Snag the Boy Next Door in 10 Minutes or Less

  1. I follow Camel Lady’s blog as well. I can confirm that she is jolly awesome and funny and that I also have something of a girl-crush on her.

    A good way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. So make some lemonade, cook a bacon sandwich and offer him lunch.

    And dress slutty of course.

  2. aaah I love it! Thanks again for having me Karen 🙂
    And PS, if all friendships were solidified over drunken subway rides home… well, I think the world would be a better place, now wouldn’t it?
    xoxo

  3. Pingback: How to Snag the Boy Next Door in 10 Minutes or Less « The Camel Life

  4. bahaahahaha thank God I am practically alone at the office, I been laughing like a mad-woman reading this post!!!! I love you breezyk you make my “blah” days into “:D” days. Great tips if I were single I would definitely do all of them!!!

      • you are extremely lucky to have her! She seems like an amazing girl to have around and to find a girl like that its a MIRACLE!!! My close friends are usually guys (less drama). Also I am a new follower of your blog, I love your style of writing.

  5. Love it! You girls crack me up! If we were not so many millions of miles away or even in the same country – my gal pals and I would fit right in with you silly girls! I vote for “borrow something.” Tools is a good one. Perhaps you need a hammer, some nails and a leveler. In fact, maybe he can even be the one to hang the artwork (a cheaper buy than a trip to V.S.) while you stand back and admire, I mean make sure it is straight. Can’t wait to hear how you get his attention! Starting a fire may be illegal – yep that is arson (even if contained). Good luck!

  6. Lemonade Stand has an added bonus over the more modern Milkshake stand – less chances of your product spoiling while out in the sun, causing less than favourable body reactions from your desired!

  7. I like that all of these things are what serial killing men would do. But since you’re both women it’s cute and something that would be on Sex and the City or another show you dames enjoy.

    I hope she at least tried to find a picture of a Beaver cooking. June Cleaver Beaver rhymes and we all have established how much I am into rhymes.

  8. LMAO. Yes, it’s up!! Was waiting for this post =P
    Alright, Karen. Don’t forget to play some Shakira at your lemonade stand and move those hips. =P

  9. My favorite tactic has always required the internet – some sort of friendlyish connection – in which I “accidentally” send them an IM/Facebook message/Livejournal comment that is “meant for someone else”. Oops. And then we have to chat. How to make that work in real life?

  10. A lemonade stand eh? That one had me rolling. I could only imagine my wife trying to lure me in by trying to sell me some lemonade, although I must say she used other means to seal the deal. That’s my Superwoman…

    But word of caution, what if he thought you spiked the lemonade with some Rohypnol? I’d be kind of creeped out, especially in this day and age. Or maybe he’s a closet serial killer like Dexter and he’s been plotting and scheming for months on how to lure you in…. A little extreme, I know.

    I’m still going with the “he may not be into women” angle. Who knows, you can probably share beauty tips with your mystery man/hipster/metrosexual (just recently discovered the term metrosexual is not in regular use). But that’s just my take in things. Enjoyed the blog nonetheless. I think I’m going to subscribe to your friend’s blog as well. Both of you are a trip.

  11. Just make sure you get a permit for any of the selling, because nothing will turn a guy away faster than seeing you get hauled off for something as unsexy as selling without a permit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

