Murphy’s Laws for the 20-something single girl

Murphy was my kind of man. The only reason I’ve never been an over-optimistic fool who always sees rainbows in the black clouds of shiteous life events is because I’ve been too busy earning my diploma from Murphy’s Law School of Realists.  When I graduated from my actual University, I should have been given a bottle of cheap wine and the words ‘Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong’ embossed on my degree.

While some people think I’m a pessimistic Negative Nancy, drinking a half-empty glass of grump juice alone in my basement, I’m really just one of those  delightful bitches in your friend circle who, with very good intentions, bursts your every sugar-coated bubble of unrealistic and/or senseless fantasies by (often times) very untacfully telling you the cold truth. Especially if you’re a Scientologist who can’t handle the truth. (Sorry, I’m quite unable to string along the words “untactful”, “senseless” and “Scientologist” without hurling in a Tom Cruise reference)

Anyway.

This where Murphy comes in. Nobody needs a Killjoy Karen crushing every optimistic pipe dream of striking it rich by baking marijuana biscuits (although Aunt Mary-Juanita’s Ginger Snaps sound like they could hit spots you never dreamed you had). But everybody does need a health dose of reality once in a while to keep themselves from the bad stuffs of life: broken hearts, eviction notices, divorce papers, jail, a series of punches in the face, gonorrhea….the list of what could go wrong is endless.

 And so, I have complied a Murphy’s Law-inspired list of the truths of the 20-something single life with a healthy dose of humor. At the ripe old age of 25, I’ve learnt that the only way to get through single life is by lots of humor. Because let’s face it, when you get married, the only way you’ll be able to get through that is by lots of compromise and Valium (in that order).

In no particular order of importance:

1. Friends come and go, but dumbasses accumulate. The word dumbass is an umbrella term for stalkers, freaks, unsavory suitors, unhygienic clients, lazy Louises/Larrys, people with poor grammar and the man sitting next to you on the subway who smells like cigarettes and urine.

2. The degree of complications of a clogged toilet is directly proportional to how attractive the plumber will be when he comes in and asks you to explain in detail what happened. Karen’s Tear-free Guide to Unclogging a Toilet has some single girl tips to deal with this shitty situation, should you find yourself stuck in it.

3. The grocery line is full of coupon-holding senior citizens when the urge to pee is the most.

4. Buying an incredible looking purse at an incredible price will only make you take more notice of other girl’s purses and wonder how much they paid for it, where they got it and if it comes in teal blue.

5. The chance you being attracted to a guy at a bar is directly proportional to the chance of him having a girlfriend, a boyfriend or a very contagious terminal illness.

6. When grocery shopping for the single girl, the ingredient you need the least of will only come in very large quantities.

7. Beauty is only skin deep; overnight makeup goes deeper.

8.  You will remember that you forgot your bus pass at home just as the bus pulls up at the stop.

9. The single girl’s phone should only have 3 key features: the ability to call, text and split a restaurant bill with tax and tip among 7 people.

10. The subway train running in the opposite direction always comes first.

I wish I could come up with Murphy’s Law for the single guy, for the mid-life crisis stricken Walmart manager, for the cookie baking soccer mom and the parent-hating emo teenager. Alas, according to what I have learnt from blogging, one must write what they know. But I’m sure that from whatever walk of life you come from, Murphy would have had something to say about it.

So let’s get real and humorously dig out that annoying crap that life hands us and laugh about the futility of fighting it. Let’s accept it for what it is, embrace the nonsense and not just dismiss its existence in the name of optimism. As Murphy would say: Smile!…for tomorrow will be worse.

23 thoughts on “Murphy’s Laws for the 20-something single girl

  1. “…and the man sitting next to you on the subway who smells like cigarettes and urine.”

    I’ll have you know I smelt like cigars, thank you very much.

    Thanks for sharing this witty piece with us. I’m happy to tackle Murphy’s Law for single guys: if there’s one thing I do know, it’s the shit that can go wrong as an unattached guy.

    • As long as there were no urine smells to go on the side with the cigars, then I think there will be no dumbass calling just yet.

      Its always my pleasure to share witty pieces with everyone. However, I do think everyone needs to be exposed to the TDot brand of wittiness and entertainment.

      I will feature you as a guest blogger if you tackle the single guy version. This whole Sex and the Cityesque single girl problems could use a break.

  2. I’m not single but man, some of these things apply to me too :S

    And not only do you have to buy certain ingredients in mass quantities, but you end up making meals in mass quantities so that you have to eat the same damn thing for breakfast, lunch and dinner for the next three days. … Slight exaggeration, but you know what I’m sayin’ =P

    • I totally feel you on that. And you’re really not exaggering that much. I’ve been in same situations where I eat the same thing everyday for 3 days for lunch and dinner. The sad thing is that I dont even care because by the time I come home, I’m so exhausted and famished that I’m just grateful that there’s food lol.

      Ohhh the joys of the 20’s…

  3. Outstanding post 🙂
    We are well acquainted with Murphy and his wonderful ways and are pretty sure the urine/cigarette man (affectionately called ‘cat-pee man’) lives in our building.

    Thank you for making us smile once again 🙂 …J

  4. The best thing about Freshly Pressed is it takes the work out of finding good writers and blogs. I am glad to have found you today. Really funny stuff.

  5. My life is directed by a capricious God/Goddess of luck that decides if it’ll be a Murphy kind of day or a smooth one according to if he/she got up on the right side of the bed, the toilet was empty and the coffee sweet enough and of the right temperature. Maybe there is only one big law: if the God/Goddess can wake up on the wrong side, he/she will” lol

  6. This is a fantastic list! Going with the public transportation items, I’d add something about the bus being late when the weather is the worst. This goes for snow, the awful combo of 0F temps and added wind, and thunderstorms. The bus will come after the thunderstorm is over and you’re no longer at risk for being struck by lightning

  7. Pingback: 10 Murphy’s Laws of Young Single Moms « Punki Momma Diaries

Leave a Reply

