Only 4 more days to Friday

 This year I actually didn’t give up anything for Lent. But I did tell myself I would try to complain less. And while most of you who know me and talk to me on a regular basis would laugh at this, I would like to point out that the key word here is ‘try’. No one’s making any solid promises. This morning though, simply by virtue of being a piss-down rainy Monday, it was one of those mornings that everyone loved to hate. I left home well before time and still had to stand out in the rain for 15 minutes waiting for my bus because of some delays. And it seemed like all my fine fellow commuters were in the same plight. Everyone looked like they were going to punch someone in the face any second.

I knew I was going to miss my connecting YRT bus. This time, there actually was no hope. I was going to be late for work and there was nothing I could do about it. So instead of bitching about my lack of control of the situation, I tried to think of how I was going to kill half an hour until the next YRT. Since my stop is at York University, I wandered into York Lanes. The aroma of freshly baked goods got my attention.

Finally, I ended up spending the half hour enjoying a straight-out-of-the-oven almond croissant and a cappuccino.

And yes, I took a picture because I needed it to remind myself of three things:

1) A freshly baked croissant and a foamy cappuccino are the answer to most of the problems that pop into your head on a Monday morning.

2) No matter how early you leave your house, you are never in control of life, the weather and public transit.

3) Missing your bus by 30 seconds is actually not the end of the world.

This could have been put in a smartly worded Facebook status update but I thought it was important enough to warrant a blog post. Let the record show that for now, the cappuccino cup is still half full.  

4 thoughts on “Only 4 more days to Friday

  1. So, so true! The “missing the bus anger” is one that I am familiar with – sadly I have no coffee shops close by to duck into, but I do spend some quality time taking artsy photos with my iPhone and getting to new levels on Angry Birds… that is when it’s not minus 20 out and too cold to have my fingers exposed to the air….

    • You know, its strange how frustrating that feeling of missing the bus is. There aren’t too many emotions that come close. I feel for you…especially when its too cold for Angry Birds and photos. I guess such is life.

Leave a Reply

