Fetuses have fingernails

I’d like to think that I’m more of a humor writer because that is my comfort zone. However, at some point in your life though, we all need to take a stand for something you truly believe in. And I don’t usually do that. Maybe because I’m afraid of what other people will think or maybe because I fear that I may somehow find myself doing exactly that what I do not stand for. So I’m going to take a risk and just talk about something that really bothered me…and a lot of other people.

If you have already guessed what this post is going to be about from the title, I’m going to tell you right off the bat that this is not going to be one of those long overdone rants about the wrongs of abortion. There are too many of those out there and this post is not going to be one of them. 

That  fact being stated, I do accept the sanctity of life but I also realise that you have a  free will to choose. If God allows you to have free will to choose, it’s nobody else’s business to take that away from you. This is why I am  writing this.

About a week ago, a group of peaceful (or so I’m assuming) group of pro-life advocates at Carleton University in Ottawa were arrested for taking to the streets and standing up for a cause that spectators like me don’t have the guts to stand up for.

I grew up in a country (Kuwait) where freedom of speech, expression and opinion that does not match the government’s is severely punished. It’s one of the things that attracted me to Canada. You are given the luxury of choice. Everyday we have the freedom to make choices that a lot of people in the world we live in do not have the freedom to make.

The issue here is not about debating the moral and ethical implications of abortion.  The issue here is why is the freedom to choose which side you are on being taken away? Why is one group allowed to proudly proclaim that they are pro-choice and the other group is punished for already making their choice in this matter and standing up for it?

A couple of years ago, I’m not proud to say that York Federation for Students at York University cut all funding for the Students for Bio-Ethical Awareness club. Really?

Whether you are pro-life or pro-choice, can you please tell how that is not infringing on your right to free speech, your right to peaceful protest, your right to freedom of expression? Most of all, how does that not infringe on  your right to choose, which ironically is the very same concept of the pro-choice movement.

By the way, all of these rights that I just stated are shamelessly boasted of by the North American world. These are the same rights that we fight wars for to “liberate” countries whose governments allow  no such freedom. If you want to justify fighting wars in name of “giving them freedom”, how then do you justify taking that very same freedom from your own people?

Congratulations Canada. You have shown me that your freedom rights are no different than those countries you equate to social justice bankrupcy. Next time you judge and condemn certain countries for arresting someone for commiting adultery…something that most Canadians will agree is not criminal, please remember that you arrested someone for being pro-life…something that ACTUALLY isn’t criminal.

At the end of the day, you cannot call yourself pro-choice if you are taking away other people’s right to choose just because you don’t agree with them.  All you have done is change the definition of pro-choice because now you have left no room for choice. You have truly made this a divide between being pro-life and pro-death. And if it is a matter  of life and death then I will take life, regardless of whether or not I’m a passive, fence-sitting  Catholic.

To paraphrase one of Canada’s finest, Ellen Paige from the movie Juno: “Dude, fetuses have fingernails!”. I will add to that and say fetuses also have a spine. It’s time we all get one too.

5 thoughts on “Fetuses have fingernails

  1. Hi Karen,

    It is okay to stray from humor here and there. 🙂 Thought provoking post. I agree with you that people should have the right of choices as well as the freedom, option and voice to peacefully demonstrate for causes they believe in. What I don’t understand is the people who have started making the pro-life/pro-choice debate a blood sport with rifle attacks, etc.

    Barbara

    • Hi Barbara,

      I know what you mean. I try to avoid debating with anyone about it which is why I debated whether or not I should even post this. It doesnt help the pro-life cause if the prolife group starts fighting for life by getting violet and neither does it help the pro-choice cause if the pro-choice group supports taking away the right to peaceful protest.

      Either way, thank you for your input on the post! 🙂
      Karen

  2. totally agree with u, everyone should have the freedom to make choice,whatever the choice is about pro-life or pro-choice. Btw, as a christian,to some extent,i would be against pro-choice. 🙂

  3. I didn’t come across that news story, so I’m not aware of the situation.

    But I agree w/ the point of the post…both sides should be able to speak up for what they believe in w/o penalty. As long as no one gets hurts. There’s always going to be two sides to a debate. We just have to respect each one and chose the one we think sits the best w/ our own morals.

Leave a Reply

