Walking the Downward Dog

For many of us, weekends are what we live and work for. And I’m not ashamed to say, I’m one of them. I struggle through my work week. By Wednesday morning, I’m ready to sell my soul just for an extra hour under my warm sheets. But being pushed into the work force has taught me a thing or two about waking up, dressing up and showing up. It does not matter whether its summer, winter, spring or fall. Waking up at 5:30am is never pleasant. Neither is working for 10 hours straight. But we do it. And I believe its essential that you love what you do. If you dont, then you learn how.
And after just crowning myself Queen of Mastering Merry Mornings two seconds ago, here are 5 things that have made some of my toughest weeks lately bearable and dare I say enjoyable. They might work for you. But if they don’t, I hope you find just 5 things that will give you a little touch of happy to whatever it is that makes your day so exhausting.
Here are my 5 happys for 5 crappys:

1. Starbucks Coffee: I will start with one of the first things that inspired this blog. My Monday morning pit stop is always joyness in a grande cup. When I say joyness, I mean energy to bring one foot in front of the other in succession and keeping walking. I get there at exactly 6:43 every Monday morning (and any other morning that requires extra ammo).One of the Starbucks guys always jokes in the morning. “You know, its not too late to go back to bed”. No its never too late. But I’ll be damned if taking the first three sips of this crap makes me excited about my Monday.

And I have learnt to drown out the voices of reason about Starbucks being soooooo expensive. If you work 10 hours a day and have to deal with crazy lunatics all day, then I think you’re entitled to a $1.79 cup of decent coffee.

2. Prayer: Its Monday morning. You start to remember phone calls you didn’t make and forms you didn’t fax on Friday because you were too damn lazy and anxious to get the hell out of the office. You hope to God your boss does not ask you about what you did not do on Friday. Because trust me, with your luck, she will ONLY ask about things you didn’t do.
Yes, I hope to God my momentary Friday laziness does not bite me in the ass on Monday morning. While most people do not believe in religion, or God or a high power, or whatever other name you want to give God, I can tell you from personal experience, nothing else calms me down like a heart to heart with the Big Guy in the morning.

3. Battle Studies: I highly recommend listening to John Mayer’s new ablum “Battle Studies”. All of the songs on this album are amazing and along with Paolo Nutini and Jason Mraz, John Mayer has been my staple morning commute companion.

The first time I listened to this album, I unconciously closed my eyes in bliss. And this was at 6:50am, before I even had a chance to sip my coffee. Mix Mr. Mayer with Starbucks and you just made your own day.

4. Paul Galloro: Paul is my fabulously flamboyant yoga/pilates instructor. I wait all week for Thursday. The moment my bus hits Finch Station at 7:10pm, I run homebound, change and grab my yoga mat. I decided to try Paul’s BodyFlow class on a whim and after an hour, it felt like I was given the most relaxing massage.

Mind you, the class is ridiculously intense. Paul maybe a super nice guy but he makes you contort your body into painfully unnatural positions. Too many downward dogs make you end up wishing Paul would just die a slow and painful death.
But boy…. what a great end to a stressful week!

5. Co-Workers: Whether you realise it or not, your co-workers either make or break your week.

And I don’t know about you, but I’d rather them make my week. And from working for the last 6 months, I have learnt that we make our work lighter my making others’ work lighter.
I love my co-workers, I hate my co-workers, I laugh with them, I bitch about them, they drive me crazy, I drive them crazy. But at the end of the day, the five of us are all in this together, and despite our differences, I’m grateful that there’s a mutual understanding of that.

And so, those are my fave five. What are yours? Do you suffer from crazy work/school/study weeks? What makes your day? My suggestion is figure that out and inject it into your crappy weekday. Because no one else knows what makes you happy better than you do! Your day will still probably be far from perfect, but we do what we can, right?
So here’s hoping you have a happy weekend…and an even happier week ahead!
Posted in Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “Walking the Downward Dog

  1. your writing is so interesting! Can't wait to see you over christmas, we're going to have fun <3.As to your question; you've inspired me to be a more optimistic person: coffee and cigarettes and advent and pop tarts and chopin are the perfect companions for 10-hour study periods!

  2. Andrea: oh wow! Thank you so much for reading my blog! 🙂 I never told you this but you actually inspired me to start my own blog in the first place. I love your writing! And I'm glad you have your fave five now! 😉 Christmas will be some goodtimes! Shawn: I listen to 60's 70's and 80's all the time! But I think over summer I did a little bit of overkill on the oldies, so now I'm trying to…expand my musical tastes haha. Good call on the Beatles though! You can never get tired of listening to them!

Leave a Reply

